Will of Rev Dr Bulkeley Bandinel

This is the last will and testament of me, the Reverend Bulkeley Bandinel of the University of Oxford, Doctor in Divinity, Librarian of the Bodleian Library in the same University

I give, devise and bequeath all my real and personal estate whatsoever and wheresoever (as to my personal estate subject to the payment of my just debts, funeral and testamentary expenses) unto my dear wife, Mary, to hold the same real and personal estate unto my said dear wife, her heirs, executors, administrators and assigns according to the nature of the property, for her and their own absolute use and benefit

I appoint my said dear wife sole executrix of this my will, and I revoke all other wills by me heretofore made

In witness whereof I have hereunto set my hand this twelfth day of March one thousand eight hundred and forty nine

Bulkeley Bandinel

Signed by the above named Bulkeley Bandinel as his last will and testament in the presence of us (present at the same time) who in his presence and in the presence of each other have hereunto subscribed our names as witnesses

Susannah Phillips [his sister-in-law]

Gord: Dayman

(3 folios)

On the second day of March 1861 the will of the Reverend Bulkeley Bandinel, late of the University of Oxford, clerk, Doctor in Divinity, Librarian of the Bodleian Library in the same University, deceased, who died on the sixth day of February 1861, at the city of Oxford, was proved in the District Registry attached to Her Majesty’s Court of Probate at Oxford, by the oath of Mary Bandinel of the city of Oxford aforesaid, widow, relict of the deceased, the sole executrix therein named, she having been first sworn duly to administer

Effects under ÂŁ16,000

Extracted by Morland and Godfrey, solicitors, Abingdon, Berks.

It is hereby certified that the above is a correct copy

Dated this seventh day of March 1861

(Oxford Probate Registry, probate 2nd March 1861)

Leave a comment